## **Congressional Progressive Caucus**

"61 Strong and Growing"

## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE SEPTEMBER 26, 2005 CONTACT: BILL GOOLD (202) 225-5161 OR (202) 226-4055

## CONGRESSIONAL CAUCUS CO-CHAIRS AND MEMBERS OPPOSE PRESIDENT BUSH AWARDING HURRICANE – RELATED CONTRACTS AND TAXPAYER DOLLARS TO DISCREDITED HALLIBURTON CORPORATION AND ITS SUBSIDIARIES

Washington, D.C. -- U.S. Representatives Lynn Woolsey and Barbara Lee, Co-Chairwomen of the Congressional Progressive Caucus and 17 of their colleagues today released a copy of their letter to President Bush demanding that Halliburton be suspended from eligibility for any additional hurricane –related or other federal contracts pending resolution of all current allegations alleging waste, fraud, and other contract-related abuses by this company in Iraq and elsewhere. (Copy of letter is attached.)

"It took President Bush nearly five days after Hurricane Katrina hit to mobilize a federal response and relief effort that was even partially effective," Woolsey noted. "Even then among his first actions were to suspend the applicable labor laws, effectively cutting the paychecks of the American workers involved in recovery and reconstruction of the Gulf Coast and New Orleans (e.g. Davis-Bacon Act). Adding insult to injury, he also awarded a lucrative, no-bid contract to a subsidiary of Vice President Cheney's old company – The Halliburton Corporation. Yet, there is mounting evidence that Halliburton is guilty of egregious waste, fraud, and abuse of the hard-earned money of the American taxpayers. It is wrong for the President to award Halliburton and its subsidiaries new, sole-source contracts on top of the more than \$10 billion that this company has already received since the Bush-Cheney Administration took office."

"The aftermath of Hurricane Katrina demonstrated the tragic consequences of having an Administration where cronyism trumps competence," said Lee. "The fact that the President would cut wages for impacted workers, while handing out millions in no-bid contracts to well connected firms is a perfect snapshot to this Administration's priorities."

Co-Chairs Lynn Woolsey Barbara Lee

## Members

Neil Abercrombie Tammy Baldwin Xavier Becerra Madeleine Bordallo Corrine Brown Sherrod Brown Michael Capuano Julia Carson Donna Christensen William "Lacy" Clay Emanuel Cleaver John Convers Elijah Cummings Danny Davis Peter DeFazio Rose DeLauro Lane Evans Sam Farr Chaka Fattah Bob Filner Barney Frank Raul Grijalva Luiz Gutierrez Maurice Hinchey Jesse Jackson Jr Sheila Jackson-Lee Stephanie Tubbs Jones Marcy Kaptur Carolyn Kilpatrick Dennis Kucinich Tom Lantos John Lewis Ed Markey Jim McDermott James McGovern Cynthia McKinney George Miller Gwen Moore Jerry Nadler Eleanor Holmes-Norton John Olver Major Owens Ed Pastor Donald Payne Bobby Rush Bernie Sanders Jan Schakowsky Jose Serrano Louise Slaughter Hilda Solis Pete Stark Bennie Thompson John Tierney Tom Udall Nydia Velazquez Maxine Waters Diane Watson Mel Watt Henry Waxman